Land Acknowledgement

Washington CEEDAR acknowledges that the State of Washington is located on the homelands of Indigenous People, who have lived in this region from time immemorial and continue to live in this region today. Currently, there are 42 tribes, 35 of which are federally recognized that share traditional homelands and waterways in what is now Washington State. Some of these are nations and confederacies that represents multiple tribes and bands.

Washington CEEDAR expresses its deepest respect for and gratitude towards these original and current caretakers of the region.

As an online academic community, we acknowledge our responsibility to establish and maintain relationships with these tribes and Indigenous peoples, in support of tribal sovereignty and the inclusion of their voices in education.

Washington's Indigenous Tribes and Nations

  • Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe
  • Lummi Nation
  • Makah Tribe
  • Marietta Band of Nooksack Tribe*
  • Muckleshoot Indian Tribe
  • Nisqually Indian Tribe
  • Nooksack Indian Tribe
  • Port Gamble S’Klallam Tribe
  • Puyallup Tribe of Indians
  • Quileute Tribe
  • Quinault Indian Nation
  • Samish Indian Nation
  • Sauk-Suiattle Indian Tribe
A topographic map of Washington.