Educational Organizations in Washington

Read to learn about the diverse educational organizations in the State of Washington and better understand their roles in the educational community. Furthermore, become familiar with the acronyms which represent the educational organizations.

PESB (The Professional Educators Standard Board)

The Professional Educator Standards Board (PESB) consists of twelve members appointed by the Governor, the majority of whom are practicing educators. PESB is responsible for policy and oversight of Washington’s system of educator preparation, certification, continuing education, and assignment (RCW). PESB works to advance educator workforce development and is responsive to educator shortage, continuing education, and increasing the diversity of the workforce. 

PESB website

OSPI (Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction)

The goal of Washington’s K–12 education system is to prepare every student for postsecondary pathways, careers, and civic engagement. Led by Superintendent Chris Reykdal, OSPI is the primary agency charged with overseeing public K–12 education in Washington state. Working with the state’s 295 public school districts and 6 state-tribal education compact schools, OSPI allocates funding and provides tools, resources, and technical assistance so every student in Washington is provided a high-quality public education. 

OSPI Website

WEA (Washington Education Association)

The Washington Education Association (WEA) is the state’s largest public sector union, representing public school staff and teachers in nearly every community in the state, as well as faculty and staff in several community and technical colleges and four year universities. 

WEA advocates for students, our profession and public education by supporting local associations and bargaining, working to elect pro-education and pro-labor candidates; lobbying for public education in the statehouse; and developing and offering high quality, member-driven professional development. 

WEA Website

Educational Service Districts

Each of Washington’s nine Educational Service Districts (ESDs) provides essential local services, responsive to their region’s communities. Together, they form a network that leverages each other’s strengths, and supports all students and schools statewide.

The Purpose of the Educational Service districts

  • Provide cooperative and informational services to local school districts.
  • Assist the Superintendent of Public Instruction and the State – Board of Education in the performance of their respective statutory or constitutional duties.
  • Provide services to school districts and to the school for the deaf and the school for the blind to assure equal educational opportunities.


Educational Service DistrictsCountiesLink:
NEWESD 101Adams, Ferry, Lincoln, Pend Orielle, Spokane, Stevens and WhitmanNEWESD 101 website
ESD 105Kittitas, Yakima, and portions of Grant and KlickitatESD 105 website
ESD 112Clark, Cowlitz, Klickitat, Pacific, Skamania and WahkiakumESD 112 website
ESD 113Thurston, Mason, Lewis, Gray’s Harbor and PacificESD 113 website
Olympic ESD 114Kitsap, Jefferson, Clallam and North MasonESD 114 website
PSED 121King and Pierce counties and Bainbridge IslandPSED 121 website
ESD 123Adams, Asotin, Benton, Columbia, Franklin, Garfield and Walla WallaESD 123 website
NCESD 171Chelan, Douglas, Grant and OkanoganNCESD 171 website
NWESDIsland, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish and WhatcomNWESD 189 website